Citizen Tribune Test

Follow Us On:

Jefferson County’s Dollar, Cox earn D2-AAA soccer superlatives

Posted on Wednesday, October 17, 2018 at 2:02 pm

Finishing with an average of 0.93 goals allowed in her senior campaign, Dollar has been tabbed the District 2-AAA Goalkeeper of the Year for 2018. Cox, a junior, has been named the District 2-AAA Defender of the Year.

The two helped the Lady Patriots post four shutout wins including two in district competition, as JCHS finished runner-up in the District 2-AAA regular season and tournament.

Five other JCHS players garnered First Team All-District honors as senior Jada Dobbins, junior Abigail Worley, sophomore Zoe Tolzmann and freshmen Molly Zander and Bree Ooten also made the list while junior Abbie Zander was named to the District 2-AAA Second Team.

Morristown West had six players earn All-District honors as senior Hallie Huffman, junior Leslie Alarcon and sophomore Amaya Yarid were all named to the First Team. Seniors Molley Wright and Lexi Cottingham along with sophomore Emily Spain garnered Second Team accolades.

Morristown East sophomore Devasia Kyle was named to the District 2-AAA Second Team.

Bearden’s Abby Brewer was named the District 2-AAA Player of the Year with 19 goals and 6 assists for the season while teammate Emily Carlevato was tabbed district Midfielder of the Year with 8 goals and 9 helpers. Knox West’s Ibby Petre earned her second straight District 2-AAA Forward of the Year honor as she totaled 27 goals scored.

Bearden’s Taylor Cross and Abby McCord earned First Team honors as did Knox West’s AK Anderson, Jessie Loewen and Avery Ward.

Hailey Cartt, Hannah Wilson, Maggie Jones and Alex Smith represented Bearden on the Second Team with Ana Bruce and Hailey Creech doing so for Knox West.

Jefferson County visits Science Hill for the Region 1-AAA semifinal round tonight, with start time set for 7 p.m. at Kermit Tipton Stadium in Johnson City.